William Saroyan International Prize for Writing, 2014

The William Saroyan International Prize for Writing is given out every two years to new and emerging fiction and non-fiction writers. The fiction prize for 2014 went to Kiese Laymon for his novel Long Division, which came out last year. The novel, which I have not read yet, is about two boys named City, who both live in Mississippi, but one is from 2013 and the other from 1985. There is time travel involved and a “strange novel” which links the two boys together. It sounds like an original and engaging book, which also looks at life in Mississippi past and present.

I heard Laymon read from his collection of essays, How to Slowly Kill Yourself and Others in America, at the Franklin Park reading series this spring. He was a great reader and his story was funny and moving. It is nice to see his debut novel getting some recognition.

I have found prize lists to be good places to discover new writers. The Saroyan shortlist has some titles on it you might want to explore.




Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s