Book Giveaway – Thomas Van Essen’s The Center of the World

9781590515495

Thanks to Other Press and author Thomas Van Essen for sharing with Proto Libro two copies of The Center of the World to give away to Proto Libro readers. This is a really great book, which I reviewed in June; I’m excited to be able to share it with you.

To enter the giveaway leave a comment to this post noting a book you think is really great that you would like others to read (book can be a debut or not). Leave a comment by noon ET on Sunday, November 10th.  Make sure you enter a working email when you do. I will be the only one who sees your email address and will need it to let you know if you have won. And there might be a delay before your comment appears on the site, as I need to approve comments before they become public.

On Sunday I will do a random drawing and announce the winners early next week.

Good luck!

 

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Book Giveaway – Thomas Van Essen’s The Center of the World

  1. Dock Oscar

    I would enter my name but I have already read it and it was really good. A mix of Downton Abbey, mystery, and the art of William Turner.

  2. Thank you for listing this giveaway!

    I think Mikhail Bulgakov’s THE MASTER AND THE MARGARITA is a must-read. It is great on so many levels and worth rereading, too.

  3. Thank you for listing this giveaway!

    I think Mikhail Bulgakov’s THE MASTER AND THE MARGARITA is a must-read. It’s layered and is engaging enough to reread.

  4. I loved The Surrendered by Chang-Rae Lee. It revolves around the interlocking lives three characters all damaged by war, a former soldier, a missionary’s wife, and a war orphan. Not only are the characters and plot engrossing, but the style is poetic in the best sense.

  5. Sara Ivry

    A book I liked a lot and read that it seems like few others have: Whatever Happened to Sophie Wilder. Great character studies and rather suspenseful even though it’s not a thriller (or not a thriller like Gone Girl).

    • @Sara Thanks for entering the giveaway. I don’t know the book you mention, but it looks like a debut novel, and a rather underrated one at that… Thanks for the suggestion.

  6. Philippa

    I was recommended “Where’d you go Bernadette” by my local bookstore for a vacation read. I loved it. Funny and clever, and a quick read. Hilarious characters and situations.

  7. Lizanne

    I have “What I Loved,” by Siri Hustvedt on my bed-side table. Recommended by a friend who lives in Sweden. Ironically set in Brooklyn (well – at least partially).

  8. Jenn

    I recommend Elizabeth Scarboro’s My Foreign Cities (2013), a memoir about young love, adventure, mortality, and eventually grief. It’s beautifully written and personally sentimental as it was written by a friend of mine from high school.

    • @Jenn Thanks for entering the book giveaway. And for recommending Scarboro’s book. It looks like a debut memoir and what a powerful topic. I am going to track it down.

  9. I love giveaways. I never win them. But I still love them. I’m making it just under the wire here for the noon deadline, so I’ll be brief. Please, somebody, everybody, read Taipei by Tao Lin. It’s the most exciting book I’ve read in a long time. His prose style is so distinctive–mind-bendingly surreal images rendered in the most deadpan tone. Like reading a deposition about a character’s interior life. Hilarious. Also disarmingly earnest. OK. 11:59. That is all.

Leave a Reply

