Stand out debuts from 2012 – 2013

As I reflect on the year of reading, I want to call attention to three debut novels that are now all available in paperback….

Best award-winning debut

Snow_Child

I’m not one to seek out books about snow or Alaska, but I loved Eowyn Ivey’s The Snow Child. Its magical realism and poetic prose made for a splendidly unique book.

Best critically-acclaimed debut

Absolution

Patrick Flanery’s Absolution stands out to me for his unique storytelling, moving story and sharp prose. I much enjoyed this book, but haven’t encountered many others who have read it. But Flanery fans don’t have to wait long for his second book—Fallen Land just came out. I can’t wait to dive in.

Best underrated debut

9781590515495

Thomas Van Essen’s The Center of the World drew me in to all four of its interlocking stories. The prose is crisp, the themes are engaging and I loved that the book revolved around a fictional painting. This is a great book that deserves to be more widely read.

Later this week I will be offering two readers of Proto Libro a chance to receive a copy of The Center of the World…stay tuned for details…..

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Stand out debuts from 2012 – 2013

  1. Thanks, Kate. The Snow Child in particular looks appealing to me for its magical realism.

Leave a Reply

