Happy Birthday Proto Libro!

Birthday_candles

Proto Libro celebrates its first year anniversary this month. I started this blog because I have a long commute: 2 or 3 subway trains and 1 hour (on a good day). If you have ever had a long commute, you know how deadening it can be – the waiting, the standing, the crowds, the delays. I’ve always read a lot on the train, but after four years of this commute I began to feel like I was reading just to keep my mind off the fact that I was underground, that I was adding 2 – 3 hours to my work day, and that I was not going to the gym after work because I was too tired after my time on the train, so I decided that I needed to do something more positive with my commute. It was time to read with a purpose. Enter Proto Libro.

I chose to review debut novels and memoirs because I’m a fiction writer and I am interested in learning more about new books and new authors. I also noticed, while researching topics for my blog, that there were few platforms that focus just on debut authors. Before I started this blog I was Tweeting micro book reviews and found that when I wrote about new authors they were more likely to Tweet back. I liked that interaction. So here we are, 12 months and 24 books later.

In the next few weeks I am going to write about what I have learned in the last year, acknowledge some of the stand out debuts from 2012- 2013 and do a book giveaway. But first, thanks to all of you for your support. I enjoy writing this blog, but having you read, make comments, email me, and even press the like button about my posts makes the reviewing so much more enjoyable. As much as a write for myself, and the authors whose books I review, I write for you. Thanks for the inspiration!

Photo courtesy of ed g2stalk

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Happy Birthday Proto Libro!

  1. Oscar

    Happy Birthday!!! Keep on spreading the good word!

  2. louise crawford

    congratulations on your first anniversary. You have given me so much info on first time published writers and my reading has been enhanced.

    Louise

  3. Laura Marshall

    Happy Birthday PL! Love hearing your thoughts on good reads–you grow my list. Bring it on year 2!

  4. Congratulations, Kate, on your first anniversary. I look forward to getting your posts and enjoying your guide to great new authors.

  5. Congratulations, Kate! Thanks for sharing the books and for telling your story about transforming a pain-in-the-butt commute into something productive that others can enjoy…

    • @ Ben. Framing this blog around my commute has given me a way to weave it into my everyday life. Now I just need to find a way to write blog posts on the train 😉 Thanks for your support. Glad you got your Twitter pic updated 😉

  6. Another reason to be grateful since leaving a comment here made me realize that I needed to change my Twitter profile picture…

  7. Joyce Carman

    Happy Blog Birthday, Kate. I read each one and often jot down the titles of books you note. Thanks for starting this and for continuing to blog. Joyce

Leave a Reply

